top of page

  • Writer's pictureMorgan Fagg

ELECTRIC CINEMA EXPERIENCE

Updated: Jan 29, 2020

I know NoHemingway loves the cinema and cinematic experiences so please when you get the chance, check out The Electric Cinema in Birmingham. You will love it.


Guest Blogger Patricia Moro

Instagram: pat_moro_g


ELECTRIC CINEMA EXPERIENCE


There is a cinema where the film choice is less important than the experience of going to the cinema itself. I am speaking about ELECTRIC CINEMA, in the Southside district of Birmingham, it is famous because it is the UK’s oldest working cinema.


I don’t remember the name of the film that I saw there as it was over 3 years ago, but I do remember the fabulous details of the experience.


Five senses of the old "The electric" are still fresh in my memory:


Sight: It has two digital screens and shows a mixture of the latest quality mainstream, independent and foreign films. The cinema today regularly holds themed nights for classic movies, Q&As, comedy nights and it even has a wedding license, too.

I would recommend going so you can enjoy this wonderful atmosphere which includes beautiful classic scenery. Remarkably, it has survived two World Wars as well as numerous changes in taste, fashion, and politics but where this timeless old fashion is mixed with a modern cinematic experience.

Smell: They don’t sell popcorn for that reason you can’t smell this perfume as in other cinemas around the world, but the fragrance is of ice-creams, delicious snacks and local homemade cakes and sweet treats for vegan and vegetarian tastes.


Taste: They have a full license to sell alcohol. They are proud to offer their very own label of bottled ale, made using traditional methods and three English-grown hop varieties. I ordered one of them, you can see the picture down below, and I remember the distinctively rich and refreshing taste.


Hearing: Watching a Sunday afternoon movie at the Electric Cinema was a great idea for a Spanish teacher to enjoy the locality. This film, which I forgot the title was my first VO (Version Original) movie without Spanish subtitles. I have memories of the American accent playing in the cinema which was pretty different to the “Burmmie” accent that I heard every day in my classes in Aston University.


Touch: In addition to the standard seats and front row seats, they offer luxurious seating called 'Old Back Sofas'. 'Each sofa is named after a star from the Golden Age of cinema: Monroe, Gable, Dietrich, Flynn……I chose the “Bogart Sofa” and I remember the touch of old leather of this sofa and imagine love stories, hugs and embraces that so many generations have probably enjoyed on this sofa since December of 1909.


Happy 110th birthday Electric Cinema!


Patricia Moro.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page