top of page

  • Writer's pictureMorgan Fagg

Irish Times #Home2vote interview


Morgan Fagg, Madrid: ‘I’m taking a day off work, spending €123 on Ryanair flights’


When we wake up on April Fools’ Day 2019 and finally find out what Brexit means, I want to know that Ireland has the right candidate in the Áras who knows the role 100 per cent. The incumbent President is that candidate; nobody knows the role better in my opinion. No man alive has experience as a mayor, senator, TD, minister and president.

I am biased in my opinion, having been involved with Michael D Higgins’ campaign in 2011.


A few of my friends travelled home to vote in the Eighth Amendment referendum, and I am doing so again this week. I never agreed with our blasphemy laws and am happy to vote on this too, but it is expensive. I’m taking a day off work, spending €123 on Ryanair flights, €80 on Hertz rental, and all the additional costs of travelling home, but keeping the poet in my opinion, is priceless.

https://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/abroad/it-s-not-worth-the-airfare-why-emigrants-aren-t-hometovote-1.3675483


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page