top of page

  • Writer's pictureMorgan Fagg

Lockdown Voices Number 53 Zoom

Updated: Jun 29, 2020

A look at Zoomsday for Bloomsday


Originally written on the 31st of December when we first learnt of Coronavirus on the news, this poem is dedicated to the Bloomsday Society in Madrid and the fantastic work that they do.


Regaling In Bloom


Peeling away at the layers of Joyce

My friends and I gather each month


Verses and songs,

the music goes on


Bill Dixon even brings

his accordion along

Unwrapping this gift

of history and his stories


Edwardian Dublin comes alive

As we remember the day

that Molly Bloom

met the artist as a young man


With a founder Sara Cantó*

whose surname translates as I sing


I bring my camera

as we all sing from

the same hymn sheet


Though I don’t always

understand him


Thank you Sara and Bill

Thanks to Chris and John

for the music you bring along

Mil gracias Elena y Pilar

Damian and Ophelia,

Maria and Malachy and Kate


For the presence you bring

Unwrapping this gift

gives me a lift


31st of December 2019


*The surname Cantó does not actually translate directly as I sing (Canto)

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page