top of page

  • Writer's pictureMorgan Fagg

Then I shot my friend, over and over again

Updated: Aug 19, 2018

I had known him for most of my life, we went to the same high school and sat beside each other in junior high.

We didn't always see eye to eye and disagreed often about many things. Girls were always attracted to him, he was always more athletic than I was and when the chance to hurt him came, I bought extra ammo. Lots of ammo. That's how you hunt a stag.

As the legendary quote from Ernest Hemingway goes: "Certainly there is no hunting like the hunting of man and those who have hunted armed men long enough and liked it, never really care for anything else thereafter."

While I am No Hemingway, I did take my friend out to the woods and shot him, spraying the trees red and scaring the birds. I shot him over and over again. I´m sure it hurt him but I felt as little remorse for him as I did for all the online kills in the video games we had played together.


Watching him wincing in pain on the ground was actually funny to me. You might judge me harshly but dressed in my camouflage, I lead a team and took the flag and when it was all over we shot the bloody stag, we shot him in the back and we shot him in the arse.


Another innocent man falling victim to marriage, my friend from school who had tolerated me for so long, carried me along, introduced me to sports and disagreed with me on so many things.


I really hope he brings me paintball shooting, for my Stag Party.


Some blurry photos from behind the lines of our paintballing shoot out:

https://www.macs-stag.nohemingway.com



13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page