top of page

  • Writer's pictureMorgan Fagg

And Then There Were None

Updated: Dec 29, 2019

The fantastic 2015 version celebrating Agatha Christie's 125th birthday.

As I watched an incredible cast cast-off in a small boat to Soldier Island, I knew I would immediately like this new series entitled Then There was None which is based on Agatha Christie’s 1939 novel.

No stranger to strange solitary islands, Sam Neil from Jurassic Park fame was joined by the baddest of the bad, Charles Dance.


Dance has been playing the ultimate bad guy roles for as long as I can remember.


His first memorable role that I can recognise him from was The Golden Child in 1986 but most of his fanbase probably comes from his role as Tywin Lannister in Game of Thrones.

Sam Neil plays General John Macarthur and Charles Dance plays a judge, Justice Lawrence Wargrave and they are joined in the little boat by both Bond and Batman villains.


I first saw Burn Gorman playing Dr. Owen Harper in Torchwood.


Torchwood is an anagram of Doctor Who but is much lesser-known than the sci-fi show it was spun off from.



Later I saw him as an insignificant Batman villain in The Dark Knight. Toby Stephens on the other hand, burst onto the screen in 2002 sparring off against Pierce Brosnan’s Bond in Die Another Day.


Maybe it was finally his day to die or maybe not, we will have to see.


The first of three episodes starts when a secretary is hired for a role she is reluctant to accept and the mystery begins.

The secretary and former governess is played by Maeve Dermody who is invited to the island under false pretenses by a man known to the group as Ulick Norman Owen who signs each letter as U.N. Owen.


My girlfriend is a big fan of Agatha Christie and reminds me that she forgets who the killer is every time she reads the original novel or watches the film.


Maybe it's amnesia but I'm not worried as long as she doesn't start forgetting more important things and doesn't do a real Agatha Christie mystery where the author disappeared in 1926 requiring a huge manhunt to find the mystery writer.

Her mystery disappearance and alleged amnesia even inspired the Doctor Who episode, "The Unicorn and The Wasp."


Having never read Agatha Christie’s work, it is only now that I am starting to appreciate her genius and I realised that two of my favourite films are based on this “whodunit” novel.


One of my all-time favourite films is Mind Hunters where a group of FBI trainee profilers are abandoned on a military training facility on a remote island where they find that their training exercise becomes very real when the profilers start to drop like flies.


Less violent than Mind Hunters, I watched Clue, a thousand times as a child, which perfectly blended the board game Cluedo with Agatha Christie’s 1939 masterpiece.


Maybe it's time we all looked into this murder business.


Thankfully, I am not being accused of murder this time, unlike a previous blog where I talk about the time I was accused of murder in the Pyrenees https://www.nohemingway.com/blog/mafia.

TWO BODIES: I will be joined by my friend Susan Vundi in 2020 as a proofreading editor for the website.



And then there were two, Happy New Year everyone.

44 views0 comments

Kommentare


bottom of page